The Royal Academy Announces 251st Summer Exhibition Committee with Jock McFadyen RA as Co-ordinator

Acclaimed British painter, Jock McFadyen RA will be the co-ordinator of the 251st Summer Exhibition in 2019. This year’s committee members are Royal Academicians Stephen Chambers, Anne Desmet, Hughie O’Donoghue, Timothy Hyman, Barbara Rae, Bob and Roberta Smith and Jane and Louise Wilson. Spencer de Grey will curate the Architecture Gallery. The Summer Exhibition Committee will be chaired by the President of the Royal Academy, Christopher Le Brun.

As co-ordinator of the 2019 Summer Exhibition, Jock McFadyen intends to build on the exhibition’s momentum of success, where it has provided a unique platform for artists at all stages of their career to present recent work. “The focus this year will be on artwork in all media which responds to the contemporary world.  I hope to welcome back many of the artists who have been exhibiting at the Royal Academy over the last few years and look forward to presenting new artists in the exhibition.”

The Summer Exhibition is the world’s largest open submission contemporary art show which has taken place every year without interruption since 1769. The members of the Summer Exhibition Committee serve in rotation, ensuring that every year the exhibition has a distinctive character, with each Royal Academician responsible for a particular gallery space. Works from all over the world are judged democratically on merit and the final selection is made during the eight-day hang in the galleries.

The Royal Academy now invites artists to take part and submit their work for a chance for it to feature in the 251st Summer Exhibition. Entries are now open: (Submission deadline: 13 February 2019).

This year, the Royal Academy expects to receive up to 15,000 entries. Around 1200 works, in a range of media, will go on display, the majority of which will be for sale offering visitors an opportunity to purchase original work. A significant part of funds raised continue to contribute to financing the postgraduate students at the RA Schools.