David Hockney to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award from HM Queen Sonja of Norway

The Queen Sonja Print Award 2018, the world’s leading award for graphic art, will be presented at an Award Ceremony at the Royal Academy of Arts in London on Thursday 8 November 2018. The ceremony will be attended by HM Queen Sonja of Norway.

The Queen Sonja Print Award was established by HM Queen Sonja Art Foundation in 2011. Presented every other year, the winner receives a cash prize of NOK 400,000 and a residency at the Atelje Larsen art studio in Helsingborg, Sweden.

The Award was originally a Nordic prize with the first awards given to Tiina Kivinen, Finland in 2012 and Svend-Allan Sørensen, Denmark in 2014. In 2016 the prize became international and was awarded to Tauba Auerbach, USA.

Forty-two artists have been nominated for the 2018 Award by curators, museum directors and fellow artists from all over the world. The nominees reflect the breadth of contemporary printmaking today, ranging from traditional forms to new approaches involving installation, collage and performance.

In addition to the main award, the QSPA Board has announced that a special award for an artist who has made a lifetime contribution to the art of printmaking will be awarded to the celebrated British artist, David Hockney, who will attend the ceremony.

Although best known as a painter, Hockney has been described as “one of the most prolific, diverse, technically astute printmakers alive.” From his earliest etchings, produced as a student at the Royal College of Art, he has made prints throughout his 60-year career. His many celebrated prints include well-known works such as A Rake’s Progress, 1961-63 and Illustrations for Six Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm, 1969 alongside portraits of some of his famous sitters and friends. Hockney’s ‘homemade prints’ which he devised in the early 1990s using photocopiers plus examples of ‘computer drawings’ such as Rain on the Studio Window2009 are a prelude to the artist’s renowned iPad works.

The 2018 Jury: Tauba Auerbach (artist and 2016 QSPA winner), Lars Nittve (curator) and Mark Nash (curator and writer).

The QSPA Board:  HM Queen Sonja, Ørnulf Opdahl, Ole Larsen, Gry Mølleskog, Cecilie Malm Brundtland, Magne Furuholmen and Erlend Høyersten. Mette Tverli is General Manager and Karianne Ryen Eriksen is Project Manager.

HM Queen Sonja is herself a practicing artist and was an exhibitor at the Royal Academy of Arts 2018 Summer Exhibition.